WMC Learner Success Celebration

Learners at WMC-The Camden College last night celebrated their academic achievements at the annual WMC Learner Success Night 2018.

Attendees filled the auspicious Maurice Hall onsite at the College in order to join in the celebrations where prizes were awarded in four categories – the Lowes Dickinson Prize, Tutor Studentship Award, Festival of Learning and ‘How WMC Changed My Life’ competition.

The Lowes Dickinson category was open to all Art and Design learners. This prize is named after Lowes Cato Dickinson, who was a tutor, artist and founder member of the WMC; it is funded through a grant left by him to enhance the learner experience at WMC.

The second category is the Tutor Studentship Award where the tutors nominated one learner each who they recognise as showing excellent studentship such as supporting other learners, attendance and punctuality, and involvement in class.

Our third category honoured one of our past learners who was put forward and highly commended at the national Festival of Learning Awards.

The final awards section was the “How WMC Changed My Life” category. This competition was open to all learners to submit their stories on how far they have come whilst studying at WMC – be it personal barriers to overcome, learning English as a second language, or studying on a course to progress into employment.

On the night, certificates and prizes were presented by Sir Keir Starmer, Labour MP for Holborn and St Pancras, Cllr Jenny Headlam-Wells, Mayor of Camden, and Helen Hammond, Principal of WMC-The Camden College.

We also said goodbye to our Chair of Governors, Tom Schuller, who has been on the board for over 10 years. Sir Keir Starmer gave a speech to the audience about Tom which highlighted Tom’s commitment to the college and to adult education. Tom was then presented with a plaque made from our wood carving tutor.

Helen Hammond, Principal of WMC-The Camden College, said: “The Learner Success night was a wonderful evening for our learners to highlight how important adult education is. It was great to celebrate how well our learners have done on their courses with us no matter what level their ability is.

“Celebrating adult education certainly proves that no matter what your age, learning a new skill or building upon your current skill-set, has always been part of our commitment to ensuring our learners achieve their goals and aspirations. It is very rewarding as Principal of this college to hear how we have helped so many of our learners’ progress onto great things or overcome barriers to continue their education in a rewarding environment. I want to pass my congratulations again to all the learners involved in making the evening very enjoyable.”

The full list of winning learners are:

Lowes Dickinson Prize


  • Helen Jermyn
  • Janette Gibson
  • Lesley Chinn
  • Lily Hart
  • Lydia Garrick
  • Maria Trimikliniotis
  • Martin Fowler
  • Patrick Costelloe
  • Patrick McCarthy

 Highly Commended:

  • Claire Willmey
  • Clifford Gabb
  • Judith Cook
  • Lorena Soledad Bau
  • Nasrin Ahady
  • Sophia Staves
  • Tanya Walton


  • Pamela McKenzie


Tutor Studentship Award


  • Hannah Wilkinson

Runners Up:

  • Amina Salem Barawani
  • Andrew Folan
  • Faiza Ibrahim
  • Hassan White

Nominated Learners who all received certificates:

  • Ahmed Elsagha
  • Barrington Smallhorn
  • Catherine Emmett
  • Catherine Trinick Doyle
  • Florence Charalambous
  • Imane Nasser
  • Jozefa Choromanska
  • Louise Williams
  • Marina Ivanova
  • Musammet Begum
  • Natalie Barnett
  • Simbiat Ekerin
  • Valbone Hajrullahu
  • Zarah Lekhal


Festival of Learning

  • Oriana White


How WMC Changed My Life Competition:


  • Katie Louise Smith

Runners up:

  • Elizabeth Tuckett
  • Jane Scobie
  • Janice Howard
  • Natalie Ann Barnett

The following nominees all received certificates for the stories:

  • Aicha Zemry
  • Ajibike Smith
  • Akther Akther
  • Amina Elmakmassi
  • Amina Elmakmassi
  • Amparo Castillo Mas
  • Anthony Brooks
  • Chin Fung Siow
  • Chuen – Tai Fung
  • Davlyn Hamilton
  • Dinesh Visavadia
  • Fartun Dhore
  • Geetanjalee Jency Appiah
  • Hassan Sed
  • Helen Simpson
  • Hulya Bereketbulur
  • Irene Valle
  • Joseph Amir
  • Khadra Naji
  • Majida Abdulrazak
  • Mary Christina Morris
  • Milouda Msrar
  • Mohamed Shalan Mohamed
  • Nasrin Ahady
  • Nehaya Bazeh
  • Ozdilek Topaloglu
  • Pauline Murray
  • Razia Begum
  • Ruksana Akther Chowdhury
  • Salma Elgailan
  • Sehriban Ozdemir
  • Shahnaz Akther Chowdhury
  • Simbiat Ekerin
  • Surekha Patel
  • Susan Edwards
  • Themis Georgiou


Pictures from the evening: